White chocolate brownies and bacon brownies

Bacon brownies stacked

Chocolate and I… Well, we’ve had a bit of a rocky relationship. Sometimes, I just plain don’t like it. Other times I simply crave it. In either case, too much of it gives me a horrible migraine. When it comes to brownies though; it’s a whole different story.

Brownies have always been my weakness. They are my feel better food.  I obviously had to try making some. The first brownies I made, that didn’t come from a box, were white chocolate brownies.

They were actually an accident. I wanted to make regular, old brownies. I just didn’t have any semisweet or bittersweet chocolate on hand at the time. I did have some white chocolate. So I figured, why not? I love white chocolate. Thus came white chocolate brownies. I love them and so does Jake. They’re my special treat for him. Well, when he’s not being a punk. :)

Bacon on top of batter

Last night I decided to try another brownie recipe. I got the idea for bacon brownies at 17 and Baking. Her recipe makes thin, fudgy brownies, but I like thicker, cake-like brownies. So I adapted the same recipe I used for the white chocolate brownies.

A bacon brownie

They turned out really well. The flavor was perfect and the bits of bacon added some texture. It all came together surprisingly well. I will definitely be making them again.

Bacon brownies

White Chocolate Brownies
Adapted from Joy of Baking
Makes about 16 brownies

5 ounces white chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and put the rack in the center of the oven. Butter an 8 inch square pan. 17 and Baking gave me the great idea of lining the pan with parchment paper, with some overhang on the sides. It really makes getting the brownies out of the pan easier, because you can just lift them out.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a metal bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. When fully melted, remove from heat and stir in cocoa powder, sugar, and vanilla extract. Then add the eggs one at a time. Make sure to mix each egg in well, before adding the next one. After adding the eggs, stir in the flour, salt, and white chocolate chips (if using).

Pour the batter into the pan and bake for about 25 minutes. (I like them a little gooey in the center. If you don’t, bake for 30 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the center comes out mostly clean.) Be careful not to over bake them though. Remove from oven and use parchment paper to pull brownies out of pan and place on a wire rack. Let cool completely.

Bacon Brownies
Adapted from Joy of Baking and 17 and Baking
Makes about 16 brownies

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
5 strips bacon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and put the rack in the center of the oven. Butter an 8 inch square pan. Again, I suggest lining the pan with parchment.

Heat a pan over medium heat. Lay strips of bacon on hot pan.  Cook until crispy. Transfer bacon to a plate lined with several layers of paper towels. Once cool, break into small pieces. I just tore the bacon into small pieces, but you can cut them if you want neater pieces.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a metal bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. When fully melted, remove from heat and stir in cocoa powder, sugar, and vanilla extract. Then add the eggs one at a time. Make sure to mix each egg in well, before adding the next one. After adding the eggs, stir in the flour and salt. Finally, stir in bacon.

Pour the batter into the pan and bake for about 30 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the center comes out mostly clean. (For these, I didn’t want them gooey in the center.) Remove from oven and use parchment paper to pull brownies out of pan and place on a wire rack. Let cool completely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

